Skip to content
The George P. and Cynthia Woods Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy

Great Brampton House – Hawking Spring Workshop

This workshop took place from March 30 to April 18, 2014, in the Great Brampton House, near Hereford, UK as part of the Cambridge-Mitchell Collaboration annual spring workshop series. The workshop ran for three weeks, with Stephen Hawking in attendance for the whole period. Other participants typically stayed for periods between a few days and a couple of weeks. The format was largely informal, as has been the style in the previous Cook’s Branch workshops. In the morning there were two lectures presented by workshop participants, with the remainder of the day being available for discussions, collaborations and research work by the various participants.

A special thanks goes to Sheridan Lorenz, who generously donated all the funds for catering, and necessary structural modifications to the house for participant needs.


  • Philippe Brax
    (Institut de Physique Théorique – France)
  • Philip Candelas
    (University of Oxford)
  • Sera Cremonini
    (Texas A&M University-Mitchell Institute)
  • Thibault Damour
    (Institute Des Hautes Études Scientifiques)
  • Anne Davis
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Xenia de la Ossa
    (University of Oxford)
  • George Ellis
    (University of Cape Town)
  • Gary Gibbons
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Hadi Godazgar
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Mahdi Godazgar
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Ruth Gregory
    (Durham University)
  • Stephen Hawking
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • James Hartle
    (University of California – Santa Barbara)
  • Thomas Hertog
    (University of Leuven – Institute for Theoretical Physics)
  • Chris Hull
    (Imperial College -London)
  • Eugene Lim
    (King’s College – London)
  • Lionel Mason
    (University of Oxford)
  • Laura Mersini-Houghton
    (University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)
  • Slava Mukhanov
    (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitā München)
  • Hermann Nicolai
    (Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics Potsdam-Golm)
  • Don Page
    (University of Alberta)
  • Malcolm Perry
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Christopher Pope
    (Texas A&M University-Mitchell Institute)
  • David Skinner
    (University of Cambridge – DAMTP)
  • Kelly Stelle
    (Imperial College -London)
  • Kip Thorne
    (California Institute of Technology)
  • Scott Watson
    (Syracuse University)
  • Anna Zytkow
    (University of Cambridge)
The Great Brampton House

March 30 – April 18, 2014